CCNA Routing and Switching Version 3.0 Certification FAQ’s

Overview of CCNA 3.0: The CCNA Routing and Switching certification offers professionals the foundation for job roles such as network administrator, network engineer or network specialist. Certified individuals gain knowledge of installing, securing, maintaining, and troubleshooting network infrastructure. The curriculum includes foundational IP technologies for IPv4 and IPv6 deployments of RIP, OSPF, EIGRP and eBGP networking and WAN protocols. Operation of LANs with multiple switches, supporting VLANs, trunking, and spanning tree protocols are covered. The curriculum also includes device management plus an understanding of QoS principles, virtualization and cloud services, and network programmability related to the WAN, access and core segments of a network.


Question: Where can I find information about the CCNA Routing and Switching certification?
A: For more information, visit the CCNA Routing and Switching certification site on the Cisco Learning Network.


Question: What are the requirements to obtain a CCNA Routing and Switching certification?

A: A candidate is required to pass the following exams to obtain the certification:
100-105 (ICND1)  and  200-105 (ICND2)
200-125 (CCNAX) Composite Exam


Question: Are there any required formal training courses to obtain the CCNA Routing and Switching certification?
A: There are no formal training courses required, however a series of instructor-led training courses are highly recommended to prepare for the required exams.


Question: How do I register for the instructor-led training courses?
A: The instructor-led training courses are offered by authorized Cisco Learning Partners. This Cisco IT training is delivered exclusively by Certified Cisco Instructors. For a list of authorized Cisco Learning Partners nearest you, please visit the Learning Partner Locator.


Question: What are the prerequisites for the CCNA Routing and Switching certification?
A: There are no prerequisites. However, it’s recommended that you have 1–3 years of networking experience.


Question: With a CCNA Routing and Switching certification, what job roles am I prepared for?
A: The certification prepares you for the following roles:
• Network Administrators
• Network Support Engineers
• Network Engineer Associate
• Network Specialist
• Network Analyst


Question: How do I recertify my CCNA Routing and Switching certification?
A: The CCNA Routing and Switching certification is valid for three years at such time, you will need to recertify. For detailed information, view the recertification policy for the CCNA Routing and Switching certification program.


Question: What updates have been made to the CCNA Routing and Switching certification curriculum?
A: Key additions to this latest revision include an understanding of Quality of Service (QoS) elements and their applicability, how virtualized and cloud services will interact and impact enterprise networks, and an overview of network programmability with the related controller types and tools that are available to support software defined network architectures. Also included is the understanding the interactions and network functions of firewalls, wireless controllers and access points, along with additional focus on IPv6 and basic network security.


Question: What self-study materials are available to help me prepare for the exams?
A: Cisco offers a comprehensive range of self-study materials. The options are as follows:
• E-Learning Courses
• Cisco Certification Practice Exams
• Cisco Learning Labs
• Cisco Press


Question: What training is available to help prepare me for the new exams?


To Learn More About Sunset Learning Institute Routing & Switching Training Options, Please Visit our Routing and Switching Training Page